2 Comments

Fast for Charity

On behalf of my friend, Dan Pratt:

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure.”

We would like to invite any and all to join in a 40-day fast for the Lord to pour out His Spirit and His love (charity). It will begin February 8 and end March 20th (spring equinox). This can look however you want it to look. It may not have anything to do with abstaining from food if you don’t want it to. You could abstain from something else. Perhaps you could give something “away” to those who suffer (instead of giving something “up” to make yourself suffer). Or you might simply focus on adding light to your life. It may be appropriate to include prayer, meditation, “rejoicing” and whatever else might be deemed as “all the energy of one’s heart.”

For more information as to why this might be a good idea, please see the points and cited scriptures at fastforcharity.blogspot.com.

Personally, for me, “Scoot”, I had not planned on participating in this, even though Charity is very much a focus for me (see my last post – Charity Never Faileth )  In my personal life, I have engaged in other lengthy “fasts” recently.  However, I so admire this effort, and the focus is so important, that I can’t help but participate.  The power of such a joint fast could be astonishing.  I’ll have to get creative, but I can do that.  I can figure something out that will be a sacrifice but will not cause me to lose even more weight – LOL!  What price could really be too much to pay, if I can only receive a small portion of the Pure Love of Christ.

2 comments on “Fast for Charity

  1. I am doing this fast also. But I have not been obstaining from food. I’ve been fasting from something else and it has been an amazingly powerful experience!

    I had no idea you were Jules’s is step dad! What a small world! She has been a huge influence on my life! Thank you for your blog and everything that you have taught me. You also have been an influence even though we don’t really know each other. May God bless your fast.

    • Is this Melissa? I’m not fasting from food, either. My fast is to daily ponder charity and to record the results in a journal. Isn’t that what the fast is for, anyway, to remind and focus? I don’t know – that’s just what I did. Yeah – I’m Jules’ step dad. We’re actually on our way down to spend a week at her house. We’re stuck in Dillon, MT because I-15 is closed, but we’ll arrive tomorrow. I’ve kind of laid off my blog for the past year, with only occasional posts. I was actually told this would happen. At first it was because I didn’t want to publicize the things I was experiencing up here in Idaho – they needed to remain less than public. Where to you live? If you’re close, maybe we could meet up.

Leave a Reply

