8 Comments

….In the Bones of My Soul

Somethin’s happening here

What it is ain’t exactly clear…

……Stephen Stills, 1966

I feel it in the bones of my soul.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  Something’s happening, and it is of eternal import.  The prophecies are legion pointing to this time – the time when society will collapse and the void will be filled by chaos, roving bands of bandits, foreign troops on U.S. soil.  Satan will laugh with perverted joy.  In the midst of this devastation will stand a remnant…a remnant of the House of Jacob:

But if they will repent and hearken unto my words, and harden not their hearts, I will establish my church among them, and they shall come in unto the covenant and be numbered among this the remnant of Jacob, unto whom I have given this land for their inheritance;

And they shall assist my people, the remnant of Jacob, and also as many of the house of Israel as shall come, that they may build a city, which shall be called the New Jerusalem.

And then shall they assist my people that they may be gathered in, who are scattered upon all the face of the land, in unto the New Jerusalem.

And then shall the power of heaven come down among them; and I also will be in the midst. (3 Nephi 21:22-25)

This is Zion.  The light shining in the darkness.  The city of the pure in heart, where all things are held in common, and where there are finally no poor among them.  This is the City in which Christ will “also be in their midst”.

I’ve noted before that people in general, and Latter-day Saints in particular, are really good at believing in miraculous things that have happened in the past, and they’re really good at believing in miraculous things that will happen in the future, but not so good at recognizing miraculous things that are happening in their day.  I work very hard at overcoming this weakness in myself.  I really wonder how we will respond when the prophesied tomorrows become today.

Now I could spend a lot of time and energy chastising the world for the unbelief and disbelief with which they fill their lives.  I could point out vociferously that I doubt many will recognize the fig leaves being put forth (Matthew 24:32) because they are too caught up in babylon.  I could lament how the abundance of manifestations have long ago ceased (D&C 70:14); how we have forfeited the gifts of the spirit because of our unbelief; and how the days when “the power of God shall be denied, and churches become defiled and be lifted up in the pride of their hearts; yea, even in a day when leaders of churches and teachers shall rise in the pride of their hearts, even to the envying of them who belong to their churches” is clearly upon us.  (Mormon 8:28) I could even wonder openly if we are so caught up in following the prophet that we forget to seek the face and will of the Lord Himself.  I could declare with all the passion of my soul that, in case you missed it, “All is not well in Zion!”

However, I’m not going to do that.  I’ve, frankly, already played my card quite economically, in one relatively short paragraph.  No, instead, I’m going to spend my time declaring to you that the time of the fulfillment of prophecy is here.  It is now.  I just know it.   I know it in the bones of my soul.

The Heavens are open.  Angles are prepared to manifest themselves unto those who still have the faith to seek heavenly manifestations.  They want to teach us.  They want to come to us.  The Lord wants to teach us to heal, and speak in tongues, and cast out spirits.  Last, but not least, He wants each of us to have a Brother of Jared moment.  The trick is, that we must have the desire, the belief, and then the faith to ask – not to consume it upon our lusts, but to enable us to become better, more powerful, more confident servants unto Christ.

I know in the bones of my soul that the 144,000 – those who are to…”administer the everlasting gospel” and “…”bring as many as will come to the Church of the Firstborn” are being sealed unto their calling at this very time “…by the angels to whom is given power over the nations of the earth”.  I know in the bones of my soul that many are being prepared to gather to Zion, but first they must strip themselves, with the Lord’s guidance, of jealousies and fears and pride and especially of their worldly goods; that they may become as the birds of the sky and the lilies of the field – humble and dependent upon their Savior; partaking of the bread and wine of His sacraments – even the water and bread of life – that they who believe may never again thirst; that they may never again hunger.

How did we think we would know these things when they come?  How many of us even think about it?  Do we really expect the Brethren to do this for us – to tell us when it’s time?  What good does that do us anyway?  Do we get closer to Christ by waiting for someone else to tell us that it is time to follow His voice, to turn completely to Him?  Do we really think that one day, there are going to be quiet letters on church letter head sent out saying “sell all your worldly goods and gather to Zion”.  That’s not how it’s going to happen.  That’s now how it is happening.  No one “becomes” Zion in that scenario.  Frankly, I cannot imagine the Lord working that way.  He is no respecter of persons.  The changes that must come upon us must be voluntary, based upon our own desire for righteousness.  Only the still, small voice can call us to Zion, so we have to be willing to listen.  We have to be willing to change.  We must ask, seek, knock, in fervent prayer, and we have to be willing to shed the trappings of babylon and turn only to Christ for our protection, our sustenance, our salvation.

Now ye may suppose that this is foolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise. (Alma 37:6)

Let me close with my testimony of the Savior.  I am nobody, but He is real.  He lives and He loves, and through Him, in the light of that love, I am powerful, but only in His service.  He longs for a place where He “also will be in their midst”.  That place does not yet exist on the earth. (Actually, there are quiet places – homes, hearts, mountains and meadows – that He has been known to frequent.) He wants a very personal relationship with each of us.  He wants us to turn completely to him, with a broken heart and contrite spirit, unlike the Israelites who, after the destruction of Sennacherib’s army (Isaiah 37:36-37), said,

The bricks are fallen down, but we will build with hewn stones: the sycomores are cut down, but we will change them into cedars. (Isaiah 9:10)

He is the Holy One of Israel, the keeper of the gate, and He employeth no servant there. (2 Nephi 9:41).  He implores us to “Come unto Me”, and He awaits with arms open for us to do so.  This is no figurative invitation.  It is literal, and if we fail to take it literally, in this mortality, we do so to our own damnation.  Words cannot describe how I know Him – the depth of the knowledge and the love.  No man can tell you how you can know Him.  Each journey – into His presence – is a very personal one.  Only you and Him – at the veil.  It can be no other way.  As you seek Him, you will know. It is His promise that I declare.

Yes – the time is now.  It has been prophesied for millennia.  The leaves are on the fig tree.  The angels are awaiting the word.  The Heavens are open.  I know it in the bones of my soul.

8 comments on “….In the Bones of My Soul

  1. Sounds more like osteomyelitis to me. (grin) Sorry, couldn’t help myself. For a firm grasp of prophecy, try following this: http://www.MormonProphecy.com

  2. Great thoughts Scott! Thank you.for always being willing to strengthen others through personal testimony.

  3. Words of truth and wisdom were spoken. I will be sharing this with post with others. Thanks Scott for sharing what you are being taught and told to share with others. I am learning that the Heavens truly are opened. Love-Sister Sally

  4. Thank you so much for your witness, Scoot. That spoke to my soul (soul bones especially). 🙂

    • Yeah, Sandy. When I mentioned this the first time to Diana, she said, “your soul has bones?” I said, “Well, I guess mine does, because I don’t know how else to describe it”. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

