1 Comment

A Conversation with God

In His ArmsA Conversation with God

Uh, Father, can we talk?

SURE.  ANYTIME. WHAT DO YOU WANT?

Um…I want it all.

YOU WANT “IT ALL”?  WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?

Well, Father, you said in D&C 84:33-40

For whoso is afaithful unto the obtaining these twobpriesthoods of which I have spoken, and the cmagnifying their calling, are dsanctified by the Spirit unto the erenewing of their bodies.

They become the asons of Moses and of Aaron and the bseed ofcAbraham, and the church and kingdom, and the delect of God.

And also all they who receive this priesthood areceive me, saith the Lord;

For he that receiveth my servants areceiveth me;

And he that areceiveth me receiveth my Father;

And he that receiveth my Father receiveth my Father’sakingdom; therefore ball that my Father hath shall be given unto him.

And this is according to the aoath and covenant which belongeth to the priesthood.

Therefore, all those who receive the apriesthood, receive thisboath and covenant of my Father, which he cannot break, neither can it be moved.

And then you said in D&C 50:24

That which is of God is light; and he that receiveth light, and continueth in God, receiveth more light; and that light growth brighter and brighter until the perfect day.

And you said in D&C 67:10

And again, verily I say unto you that it is your privilege, and aapromise I give unto you that have been ordained unto this ministry, that inasmuch as you bstrip yourselves from cjealousiesand dfears, and ehumble yourselves before me, for ye are not sufficiently humble, the fveil shall be rent and you shall gsee me and know that I am—not with the carnal neither natural mind, but with the spiritual.

And in D&C 93:1

Verily, thus saith the Lord: It shall come to pass that every soul who aforsaketh his bsins and cometh unto me, and ccalleth on my name, and dobeyeth my voice, and keepeth my commandments, shall esee my fface and gknow that I am

And you told the people of the church 180 years ago to prepare to build Zion.  You even told them how.  And – well, I guess they weren’t ready, so you gave them a break.  And is it true that we have to build Zion before Jesus will return?  And, Father, you said a whole lot more and, well…I believe you!  And it’s true – it’s all true, isn’t it?

YES, THAT’S ALL TRUE.

And you’ve never broken a promise to me before, and I don’t think you will do that now, right?

NO, I WILL NEVER BREAK A PROMISE.  BUT YOU’RE NOT READY FOR ALL OF THIS.

(Hangs head a little)  Yes, I know…but, Father, I’ve been thinking.  (Heavy sigh from the cosmos).  You see, I figure that even though I’m not ready to exercise the power to move mountains and raise the dead, and even though I’m not ready to receive a vision like Nephi’s or to be translated like John, if I keep believing that, then I’ll never be ready.  Instead, I figure I’ve got to take you at your word, and then ask you to help me get ready.  That’s what the atonement’s all about, isn’t it?  Honestly, it’s all a little scary to me, too, but if you’ve promised these things, and I don’t ask for them, isn’t that kind of like I’m saying that the gifts aren’t really important to me?  And isn’t that kind of like disrespecting the gift?  And isn’t that kind of like disrespecting you?

And Father, if I don’t believe in your promises, then…well…isn’t that kind of like not believing in you?  Maybe I misunderstood the scriptures…

NO – YOU DIDN’T MISUNDERSTAND.  THOSE ARE MY PROMISES. AND I MEANT THEM.

And Father – the Holy Ghost has been putting these ideas in my head; ideas like that I can’t stand the thought that you offer us these astounding blessings, and that I might die without even asking for them.  He’s been giving me ideas like that I want to glorify you by becoming the receptacle of every blessing that you promise, and that I can’t bear the thought of my own weakness standing between me and the promises of the temple endowment.  And He’s been showing me that there’s nothing in any of these promises – in the scriptures or in the temple – that even remotely implies that you intended for us to wait until we die before we receive these blessings.  And He’s been telling me that you probably have a great calling for me – a calling far beyond anything I could ever imagine for myself – just waiting to be fulfilled.  And if it comes from the Holy Ghost, it’s got to be true, right?

YES, YOU HAVE A POINT – A VERY GOOD ONE, ACTUALLY.  AND, TO BE HONEST, I WAS WONDERING WHEN YOU WERE GOING TO FIGURE THIS OUT.

Father, I know I’m weak, and selfish, and lazy.  I know I still have jealousies about some things, and that it’s still kind of scary for me, so the fear thing is still a problem.  I also know that if I keep telling myself that these blessings only come to some special people, and if I keep thinking that they’re only for the next life, then I don’t have to face up to the responsibilities that come with godliness.  But Father, I really can’t do that.  I can’t just settle.  You love me so much, and your son loves me so much that He really did die for me!  And you never gave up on me despite the arrogant rebellions of my youth.  And I’ve seen how you continue to extend the greatest blessings like those of the temple to all your children, even the dead ones who lived horrible sinful lives.  I’ve come to understand how much you love us, and I just can’t sit around and be satisfied with mediocrity.  To do so sort of puts a cap on your love, and Father, that’s just not honest.

THAT’S RIGHT, SON, IT’S NOT.

So, Father, will you help me?  If I give my heart and my soul to you now, and promise to continue to do all I can to serve you and learn of you and humble myself and rid myself of worldly loves that don’t glorify you, will you help me to become brave enough and strong enough and humble enough to wield the fullness of the priesthood on your behalf?  Will you help me grow firm in faith and trust and charity?  Will you teach me the mysteries of the kingdom that can only be learned by personal revelation?  And will you forgive me for being so presumptuous?

(SNIFF, SNIFF)  SON, YOU’RE NOT BEING PRESUMPTUOUS.  I THOUGHT YOU WOULD NEVER ASK!

And Father – will you maybe send your son to visit me sometime…maybe soon?  I’d really like to feel the fullness of His love first hand.

YES, SON, I THINK THAT CAN BE ARRANGED.

And…one last thing, Father.  Can I be on your Zion team?……….

One comment on “A Conversation with God

  1. in d&c that the humble person will seek for a spiritual mind, and that the veil will someday be revealed, however, to things, one in the context of the scripture, it mentions that the unhumbled person will get the veil rent or is this translated out of context, so that the unhumbled or insincere person get to see god, ?

    the second questions according to Jewish belief and or Mormon i thought the veil is a permanent focus of those that believe not, and there is still no absolute positive proof of God existence as a spirit not as a fleshly person that would be so anamorphic doctrine, that God is flesh or material? how does that fit with so called God is in existential eternality, and such with his absolute place beyond time in eternality? if God came into time or if we were to see him in time, would God shallow up all of time?

Leave a Reply

