Leave a comment

In the Name of Jesus Christ

ChristusI haven’t been writing as much lately as I have in the last year, only posting every 2-3 weeks, because I just haven’t been inspired.  It’s like I had built up a store of things over the last 15 years that I wanted to share, and they sort of came pouring out, but now, the reservoir is at maintenance level, and I have to wait for something to really strike me before I feel prompted to share it.  This morning I am inspired.

I was performing ordinance work in the Salt Lake Temple last night, finishing each ordinance with “In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.”  At one point, I was struck by the realization that I am performing this work, with authority, “in the name of Jesus Christ”.  I am His designated servant, doing something that He wants specifically done.  I am truly working for the Lord.  You might say, “Well, d’uh!” but for some reason – well, it was just one of those moments when the truth that I’ve known for years suddenly becomes somehow more true.

This morning, I was pondering on that experience, and I asked myself, “Why don’t I do everything in the name of Jesus Christ? What if everything I did in my life were done in the name of Jesus Christ? What if my life were lived in the name of Jesus Christ?”  This led me to do a quick inventory of my activities, asking about each one whether or not they are done in the name of Jesus Christ – if each of my activities is something that I do because He wants it done, as His designated servant

I don’t want to bore you with an accounting of my daily activities; the highlights are that with few exceptions, everything I do in my life can be done in the name of Jesus Christ.  The exceptions:

– time I spend at the end of the day, when I don’t want to do anything constructive, and I might watch a favorite TV show while playing Free Cell on my laptop.

– Movies.  We’re very picky about movies. Nothing R-rated, and we’re pretty careful about all others.  Iron Man 3 is about as racy as we get.  Still, would I watch “The Avengers” in the name of Jesus Christ?  Hmmmm….

I even wondered about my work, where I’m a consultant for a manufacturing software company.  I sometimes work with companies that make weapons systems. Still, I strive to do everything with love and integrity – building people up, making things better.  When I leave, I hope the weapons system is just a little more loving and constructive for my having been there.

So, it has occurred to me that a meaningful measure of my personal sanctification is the degree to which I do everything in the name of Jesus Christ.  I know that I need to strive so that when I pray at night, closing with, “In the name of Jesus Christ, amen”, I am putting a stamp on my day, dedicating everything I have done during the entire day to Him.  Would he accept it?  Have I crafted my day into a gift that I could offer the Savior and have Him receive it?

On this beautiful Sabbath morning, Mother’s Day, 2013, I declare to the world that I will strive even more to live my life “In the name of Jesus Christ”.  I invite you, if you have not already done so, to join me.  Let us do all that we do with an eye toward helping fulfill the prophecy, “And in that day the enmity of man, and the enmity of beasts, yea, the enmity of all flesh, shall cease from before my face. (D&C 101:26).  There can be no greater purpose.  There can be no greater measure of our discipleship.  There can be no greater love.  In the name of Jesus Christ.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

